Tamworth Peel Valley Lions Club

District 201N1 New South Wales Australia




Contact Details: Terry Hill - Secretary

Phone - (02) 6765 6042 


PO Box 957,Tamworth, NSW 2340


When do we meet?

The 1st and 3rd Thursday of the month.

Where do we meet?

Tamworth Golf Club, Mahoney Avenue



As a result of discussions by the Extension Committee of the Tamworth Lions Club during Lion Keith Singh's Presidency, the Lions Club of Tamworth PeelValley was formed at an Inaugural Meeting on 5th April 1974, at the Tamworth City Bowling Club. 

The Formation Meeting was held on 24th May, Where Les Ault was elected President,  Joe Horan Secretary,   Ken Truman Treasurer,  Athol Barber 1st Vice President,  Andy Brennan 2nd Vice President,  Reg Humphries 3rd Vice President,  Wal Lodge Tail Twister,  John Murphy Lion Tamer,  with Greg Fotheringham,  Bob Wall,  Gerry Shottek,  Colin Moore as Directors,  and Kelvin Auld  the Bulletin Editor.

The Tamworth Lions Club committee consisted of Past President Lions Bryant Bedville, Noel Thibault, Les Gardner, President Lion Keith Singh, and Lions Dick Leaver, Doug Harbison and Jim Croll. Guiding Lion was Lion Bryant Bedville.

From this date until their Charter ,the club commenced various projects including two memorable Wood ChopsĀ, the Lions Park in Coledale and our first Ladies Night on the 28th June.

The Charter was presented on 11th October 1974  to the twenty eight members of the club by  the District Governor, Kevin Smith at a ceremony at the Tamworth RSL Club. Two of the original Charter members are still active members of the club today, Lions David Gilroy & Doug Jackson.